Oct 26, 2021 11:17 PM

Free business succession planning workshop planned for Salina

Posted Oct 26, 2021 11:17 PM

Area residents and business owners located in north-central Kansas are invited to attend a free informational session on small business succession planning in Salina.

The session will be from 6-8 p.m. Nov. 11 in the Visit Salina Annex, 120 W. Ash Street.

The North Central Regional Planning Commission (NCRPC) is hosting the event. It is available and free for residents, businesses and nonprofits located in the NCRPC 12-county service area — including the counties of Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Marshall, Mitchell, Ottawa, Republic, Saline, and Washington. Rick Feltenberger, regional director of the Kansas Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at Fort Hays State University, will lead the session.

The workshop is intended to grow awareness of the importance of succession planning for small business owners in the region. Small business succession planning helps ensure that communities retain their core businesses and that owners are prepared for the next chapter in their life. There will be time for questions and answers from participants following thepresentation.

 The session is free, but advance registration is required. A minimum of five participants are needed to hold this session. To learn more and to register, visit www.ncrpc.org/event/succession-planning-salina/.

This training is one of several currently available from now through June 2022 in the general categories of business and nonprofit basics, business succession planning, developing an online presence, and nonprofit board development and retention. The training series has been developed as part of the region’s response and recovery to the economic impacts of COVID-19. It is funded in part by the U.S. Department of Commerce EconomicDevelopment Administration’s CARES Act Recovery Assistance grant awarded to the NCRPC.

NCRPC is committed to advancing rural Kansas through comprehensive planning and development services. Its primary service area includes 12 counties and 83 cities in North Central Kansas. For more information about the NCRPC, visit www.ncrpc.org/.