Jan 13, 2021 4:23 PM

Neufeld picked for district magistrate judge in McPherson County

Posted Jan 13, 2021 4:23 PM

TOPEKA—The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected Ellen Neufeld to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in McPherson County.

The commission conducted public interviews of nominees by videoconference Jan. 12.

Neufeld's new position will be effective on her swearing in. She is an Inman attorney.

The 9th Judicial District is composed of Harvey and McPherson counties. The vacancy was created by Judge Steve Hilgers' Jan. 8 retirement. Four people had applied for the opening.

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires that this district magistrate judge be:

●a resident of McPherson County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

●a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

●either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Evelyn Wilson as the interim, nonvoting chair; Amie Bauer, Lindsborg; Michael Androes, Ann Elliott, and Harris Terry, McPherson; and Thomas Adrian, Jana McKinney, John Robb, and George "Chip" Westfall, Newton.