Oct 13, 2021

Salina one of 10 Kansas communities to receive Dept. of Justice grant

Posted Oct 13, 2021 7:50 PM

WASHINGTON β€“ U.S. Senators Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) and Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.) today announced $839,491 in Department of Justice grants to support Kansas law enforcement.

These grants will be dispersed to 10 communities across Kansas, including the City of Salina, according to information from Moran's office.

β€œAs crime rates are increasing, these grants will fund the purchase of new equipment, development of outreach programs and update outdated technology to help our local law enforcement carry out their responsibilities to protect our communities,” said Moran. β€œThrough my role as the lead Republican on the subcommittee that funds these grants, I am working to make certain we provide every officer, captain, lieutenant, chief and sheriff with the resources they need to fulfill their duties.”

β€œAs the son of a police chief, I have the utmost respect for our nation’s law enforcement officers,” said Marshall. β€œI was proud to advocate for the full funding of the Byrne JAG program over the summer, and am pleased to see the criminal justice system in Kansas receive adequate funding so it can operate effectively. These meaningful investments ensure the men and women who risk their lives to protect us receive the assistance and training they need, resulting in more secure communities throughout our state.”

Moran is the lead Republican of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies, which funds the Department of Justice.

Grant recipients are as follows.

●Sedgwick County β€“ $443,481

●Wyandotte County β€“ $100,030

●City of Olathe β€“ $81,107

●Shawnee County β€“ $79,639

●City of Lawrence β€“ $30,505

●City of Leavenworth β€“ $30,016

●Riley County β€“ $24,567

●City of Salina β€“ $21,435

●Junction City β€“ $14,747

●Garden City β€“ $13,964