May 11, 2022

Blue Key: K-State students to receive scholarships

Posted May 11, 2022 11:35 PM

Kansas State University

MANHATTAN — The Kansas State University chapter of Blue Key Senior Honorary has awarded scholarships to 25 students for the 2022-2023 academic year.

All scholarship recipients underwent a rigorous and competitive application and interview process. Awardees were selected for demonstrating a clear dedication to Blue Key's three pillars of scholarship, leadership and service.

The following students are receiving Blue Key scholarships:

Kylie Litavniks, senior in finance, international studies, political science and French, Blue Key Study Abroad Scholarship, Andover; Avery Johnson, sophomore in human development and family science and pre-nursing, Robert Lewis Sophomore Leadership Award, Beloit; Jim Gant, senior in electrical engineering, Greg Hardin Memorial Scholarship, Council Grove; Michelle Montalvo-Gonzales, junior in life sciences and pre-medicine, Roy C. Langford Memorial Scholarship, Dodge City; Loribeth Claro-Martinez, junior in psychology, Bernard Franklin Opportunity Scholarship, and Tram Pham, senior in accounting and finance, Bernard Franklin Opportunity Scholarship, both from Garden City.

FromGreater Kansas City: Ryan Pope, sophomore in biology and pre-medicine, Blue Key Study Abroad Scholarship, Leawood; Samantha Brethour, junior in management, Walter Martin Memorial Scholarship, Tamara Lopez Monroy, freshman in communication sciences and disorders, Bernard Franklin Opportunity Scholarship, and Emmanuel Ugwuegbu, junior in biology and pre-medicine, Dr. Pat J. Bosco Graduate Student Scholarship, all from Lenexa; Elizabeth Wasinger, junior in construction science and management, Greg Hardin Memorial Scholarship, Olathe; Abby Collins, sophomore in architectural engineering, Robert Lewis Sophomore Leadership Award, and Parker Larson, senior in finance, Walter Martin Memorial Scholarship, both from Overland Park; Elizabeth Sandstrom, sophomore in strategic communications, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award, Prairie Village; and Lauren Stanton, junior in biological systems engineering and environmental engineering, Chester E. Peters Student Development Award, Shawnee.

Piper Schlatter, junior in agribusiness, Chester E. Peters Student Development Award, Hutchinson; Cami Wells, senior in human development and family science and pre-occupational therapy, Walter Martin Memorial Scholarship, and John Baybutt, sophomore in biomedical engineering and pre-medicine, Greg Hardin Memorial Scholarship, both from Manhattan; Kylee O’Dell, junior in architecture, Roy C. Langford Memorial Scholarship, Mulvane; Ethan Brown, junior in marketing, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award, Salina; and Hattie Polson, sophomore in agricultural economics, Chester E. Peters Student Development Award, Vermillion.

From out of state: Elizabeth Sturgis, sophomore in agricultural education, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award, Joplin, Missouri; Colleen Fulton, junior in psychology and sociology, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award, Loup City, Nebraska; Negil McPherson, junior in marketing, Neal Atkinson Junior Leadership Award, Omaha, Nebraska; and Lauren Thompson, freshman in animal sciences and industry, Robert Lewis Sophomore Leadership Award, Woodville, Wisconsin.

Blue Key is a premier honor society that recognizes college students at senior institutions of higher education for balanced and all-around excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership and service. The organization bases its eligibility for membership on all-around leadership in student life, high scholastic achievement, service to others, and citizenship.