Mar 10, 2020 9:02 PM

WSU's Echenique named second team all-conference

Posted Mar 10, 2020 9:02 PM

The American Athletic Conference released its all-conference teams on Tuesday afternoon. Wichita State senior Jaime Echenique was named to the second team.

Echenique – a 6-foot-11 center from Barranquilla, Colombia – is the Shockers’ leading scorer (11.3), rebounder (7.1) and shot-blocker (43).

He ranks among the league’s top-10 in blocks (4th, 1.6), rebounds (6th), double-doubles (t-5th, 6) and field goal percentage (7th, .487).

Despite playing just two seasons for WSU after transferring from Trinity Valley (Texas) Community College, Echenique is tied for ninth on the Shockers’ all-time blocks list (94).

Echenique is Wichita State’s fourth all-conference player in three seasons of AAC membership. Markis McDuffie was a second-team pick in 2019 and the duo of Landry Shamet and Shaquille Morris both earned first-team honors in 2018.

The league will announce individual award winners on Wednesday.

Wichita State (23-8) opens play in the Air Force Reserve American Athletic Conference Championship this Friday against either UConn or Tulane. Friday’s 2 p.m. CT tipoff from Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas, airs nationally on ESPN2.

Continue Reading Salina Post
Mar 10, 2020 9:02 PM
Kansas' Azubuike AP Big 12 player of year, Baylor's Drew top coach

AP Sports Writer

Kansas center Udoka Azubuike is The Associated Press Big 12 player of the year.

The 7-footer is the only player in the conference averaging a double-double. Azubuike and his Jayhawks teammate Devon Dotson are the only unanimous picks for the AP All-Big 12 first team released Tuesday.

Baylor sophomore guard Jared Butler, TCU senior guard Desmond Bane and Oklahoma senior forward Kristian Doolittle are the other first-team selections.

Scott Drew was picked as coach of the year after No. 5 Baylor set a Big 12 record winning 23 games in a row.