Jan 07, 2020 8:29 PM

Kansas Shrine Bowl announces 2020 players

Posted Jan 07, 2020 8:29 PM

Local and area players are among those selected for this year's Kansas Shrine Bowl game.

The 47th Annual Kansas Shrine Bowl is scheduled for 7 p.m. July 18 at Yager Stadium in Moore Bowl at Washburn University in Topeka.

Local and area players selected include Ty Garrett, Salina South; Creighton Johnson, Beloit; Jackson Kavanagh, Salina Central; Kel Stroud, Chapman; and Cody Stufflebean, McPherson. Complete rosters for both the East and West teams are below.

The 2020 head coaches, as selected by votes from the 2019 coaching staff, trainers, managers and camp directors, are Washburn Rural’s Steve Buhler for the East and Goddard’s Tommy Beason leading the West.

The assistant coaches for the East team are; 6A assistant, Jesse Owen (Olathe East); 5A assistant, Brian King (DeSoto); 4A assistant, Mike Dumpert (Paola); 3A assistant, Mike Paramore (Perry-Lecompton); 2A assistant, Johnny Mallatt (Riverton, 1A assistant, Larry Glatczak (Centralia). The East coaching staff had a combined record of 58-20 in 2019, including a state runner-up and state champion. The East staff has a combined nine Kansas Shrine Bowl coaching appearances, include two previous head coaches. Larry Glatczak lead the East in 2011 and 2020, Head Coach Steve Buhler also led the East back in 2012.

Assistant coaches for the West team are; 6A assistant, Weston Shartz (Wichita West); 5A assistant, Erin Beck (Great Bend); 4A assistant, Derek Tuttle (Andover Central); 3A assistant, Shelby Wehrman (Cheney); 2A assistant, Lucas Melvin (Norton); 1A assistant, Jeff Werner (Sedgwick). The West coaching staff had a combined 54-25 record in 2019, with two state runner-up finishes. The staff also has a combined four Kansas Shrine Bowl coaching appearances, including the West squad’s 2003 Head Coach Weston Shartz.

Players are selected each year by a combination of media votes and selections from the Kansas Shrine Bowl coaching staff. Players must be nominated by their high school coach or athletic director. The players selected to the 2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl join the 3,088 players who have participated in the annual event since 1974.

“We are very excited about the great group of young men selected for this year’s game,” said B.J. Harris, executive director of the Kansas Shrine Bowl. “These players and coaches now have an incredible opportunity ahead of them, one that is sure to have a lasting impact in their life.”

“I’m excited that so many of our players come with high praise from their coaches and their communities,” said Tommy Beason, West head coach. “These are great young people with a bright future and our staff is excited to share this Shrine Bowl experience with them.”

"The 2020 East team is a very athletic group that is extremely versatile. All these players had successful high school careers impacting their teams on both sides of the ball,” said Steve Buhler, East head coach. “This versatility will allow the coaching staff more flexibility in preparing offensive and defensive schemes as well as filling special teams, which is important when you are putting together a 36-player roster."

2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl East Squad

2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl West Squad